• Home
  • Investor Access
  • Fran├žais
  • AdChoices
Print E-mail Bookmark and ShareShare

Overview

1832 Asset Management L.P. ("1832"), in its capacity as manager, provides investment management and administrative services to, the Dynamic Funds, the MarquisPortfolio Solutions, the Marquis Institutional Solutions, the Dynamic Hedge Funds, the Hollis Wealth Pooled Funds, the Dynamic Venture Opportunities Fund Ltd., and the DPF India closed-end fund (each a "Fund", collectively the "Funds"). 1832 also provides investment management and administrative services to institutional clients.

Subject to compliance with applicable securities legislation, 1832, in its capacity as manager, acting on each Fund's behalf, has the right to vote proxies relating to the issuers of each Fund's portfolio securities. In certain circumstances, 1832 may delegate this function to a Fund's portfolio advisor or sub-advisor as part of such advisor' s discretionary authority to manage the Fund's assets. In all cases, proxies must be voted in a manner consistent with the best interests of the Fund and its securityholders. The proxy voting guidelines described below form an important part of 1832's fiduciary duty to maximize the long term value of each Fund for the benefit of its securityholders.

Generally, proxies will be voted with management of an issuer on routine business, otherwise a Fund will not own or maintain a position in the securities of that issuer. Examples of routine business applicable to an issuer are: voting on the size, nomination and election of the board of directors, and the appointment of auditors. All other special or non-routine matters will be assessed on a case-by-case basis with a focus on the potential impact of the vote on the value of a Fund's investment in that issuer.

Special or non-routine matters are brought to the attention of the portfolio manager(s) of the applicable Fund, and, after assessment, the portfolio manager(s) will direct that such matters be voted in a way that he or she believes will better protect or enhance the value of the investment for the Fund. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, examples of special or non-routine business are: stock-based compensation plans, executive severance compensation arrangements, shareholders rights plans, corporate restructuring plans, going private transactions in connection with leveraged buyouts, lock-up arrangements, crown jewel defenses, supermajority approval proposals, and stakeholder or shareholder proposals.

1832's fundamental policy to vote proxies on behalf of a Fund in a manner consistent with the best interests of the Fund and its securityholders will always guide any proxy voting decision. If 1832, on behalf of a Fund, votes against management of an issuer on any particular proposal, whether routine or non-routine, and the Fund continues to own the security of such issuer, documentation of that vote is required along with a detailed explanation to be kept on file. In situations where a portfolio manager decides to vote securities held in his or her Fund account(s) differently from another portfolio manager(s) who holds the same security on behalf of another Fund, rationale for the differing vote is documented and kept on file. On occasion, a portfolio manager may abstain from voting a proxy or a specific proxy item when he or she concludes that the potential benefit of voting the proxy of that issuer is outweighed by the cost of voting the proxy. Such instances require that a detailed explanation be kept on file. All such documentation will be submitted to 1832's Portfolio Administrator of Proxy Voting (the "Portfolio Administrator") for filing and record-keeping.

In addition, 1832 will not vote proxies received for issuers of portfolio securities which are no longer held in a Fund's account. Pursuant to the requirements of securities legislation, 1832, on behalf of a Fund, will not vote any of the securities a Fund holds in underlying mutual funds managed by 1832 or any of its affiliates or associates (as such terms are defined in the Securities Act (Ontario)). However, 1832, in its sole discretion, may arrange for securityholders of a Fund to vote their share of those securities of the underlying mutual fund.

Under continuous oversight of the Manager of Portfolio Administration, the Portfolio Administrator is responsible for monitoring receipt of all proxies for securities for which 1832 has voting responsibility on behalf of a Fund. The Manager of Portfolio Administration develops and updates a list of matters 1832 treats as routine business, including instructions on how to vote on those matters on behalf of the Funds. The Manager of Portfolio Administration is responsible for ensuring that the Portfolio Administrator votes the Funds' proxies in accordance with 1832' s established instructions.

Generally, all proxy voting is done by the Portfolio Administrator, on behalf of 1832, or by the portfolio advisor or the sub-advisor, using ProxyEdge software which is administered by ADP Investor Communication Services, Inc. ("ADP"). The ProxyEdge software records all proxy voting actions taken on behalf of each Fund, including the relevant particulars for each issuer. Subject to the prior approval of 1832, a portfolio advisor or sub-advisor may instead submit to 1832 in paper format a Fund's proxy voting information for 1832 to provide to ADP. Such proxy voting information compiled by ADP will be included in each Fund's annual proxy voting record ("Proxy Voting Record") for the period ending on June 30th of each year.

Upon receipt of approval from the Canadian securities regulatory authorities, some of the Funds may hold common shares of Scotiabank or other related entities. There is the potential for a conflict of interest between the interests of the Funds and the interests of 1832 or its employees in connection with the exercise of voting rights of the Funds attached to the shares of Scotiabank or other related entities. There is also the potential for a conflict of interest in connection with the exercise of the Funds' voting rights attached to the shares of another issuer, where the outcome of the vote may directly impact the price of the shares of Scotiabank or other related entities.

Where proxy voting could give rise to a conflict of interest or perceived conflict of interest, in order to balance the interests of the Funds in voting proxies with the desire to avoid the perception of a conflict of interest, 1832 has instituted procedures to help ensure that a Fund's proxy is voted:

  • In accordance with the business judgment of the portfolio manager, uninfluenced by considerations other than the best interests of the Fund; and
  • Free from any influence by Scotiabank or another related entity and without taking into account any consideration relevant to Scotiabank or any of its associates or affiliates.

The procedures for voting issuers' proxies where there may be a conflict of interest include escalation of the issue to members of the Independent Review Committee, all of whom are independent of 1832, for its consideration and recommendation, although the responsibility for deciding how to vote a Fund's proxies and for exercising the vote remains with 1832.

A copy of these proxy voting guidelines and the most recent Proxy Voting Record for each Fund for the most recent period ended June 30 of each year will be available on www.dynamic.ca by August 31 of that year. This information will be sent, upon request, to securityholders of the Funds at any time after August 31 of that year.

If you have any questions, please contact the Legal & Compliance Department, 1832 Ltd., Dynamic Funds Tower, 1 Adelaide Street East, Toronto, Ontario, M5C 2V9.

Latest News

• Accueil
  • Accès investisseurs
  • English
  • Choix de pub
Imprimer Courriel Bookmark and SharePartager

Survol

Gestion d’actifs 1832 S.E.C. (« 1832 »), en sa qualité de société de gestion, fournit des services de gestion de placements et d’administration aux Fonds Dynamique, Solutions de portefeuille Marquis, Solutions institutionnelles Marquis, fonds de couverture Dynamique, fonds en gestion commune de Patrimoine Hollis, Dynamic Venture Opportunities Fund Ltd. et fonds à capital fixe DPF India (individuellement un « fonds » et collectivement les « fonds »). 1832 fournit également des services de gestion de placement et d’administration à des clients institutionnels.

Sous réserve des dispositions des lois sur les valeurs mobilières, 1832 agit au nom de chaque fonds et elle a le droit de voter par procuration en ce qui concerne les émetteurs des valeurs mobilières détenues par chaque fonds. Dans certains cas, 1832 peut déléguer cette fonction au conseiller ou sous-conseiller en placements du fonds dans le cadre du pouvoir discrétionnaire qui est conféré à ce dernier pour gérer l’actif du fonds. Dans tous les cas, un vote par procuration pour le compte d’un fonds doit être exécuté au mieux des intérêts du fonds et de ses porteurs de titres. Les lignes directrices sur les votes par procuration décrites ci-après font partie intégrante des obligations de fiduciaire de 1832 qui consistent à maximiser à long terme la valeur de chaque fonds au profit de ses porteurs de titres.

En règle générale, les votes par procuration s’effectuent selon la volonté de la direction d’un émetteur sur les affaires courantes, sinon le fonds se départit des titres de l’émetteur en question. Par affaires courantes, on entend notamment le nombre, le choix et la nomination des membres du conseil d’administration ainsi que la nomination des vérificateurs. Toutes les autres affaires spéciales ou qui ne sont pas de nature courante sont examinées au cas par cas, la principale préoccupation étant les répercussions que pourrait avoir le vote sur la valeur du placement du fonds dans cet émetteur.

Les affaires spéciales ou qui ne sont pas de nature courante sont portées à l’attention du gestionnaire de portefeuille du fonds touché. Après évaluation, le gestionnaire demandera que le droit de vote soit exercé de la manière qu’iljuge la plus appropriée pour préserver ou rehausser la valeur du placement du fonds. Sans restreindre le caractère général de ce qui précède, par affaires spéciales ou qui ne sont pas de nature non courante, on entend les plans de rémunération à base d’actions, les indemnités de cessation d’emploi des cadres supérieurs, les régimes de protection des droits des actionnaires, les plans de restructuration des sociétés, les opérations de fermeture du capital dans le cadre d’acquisitions par emprunt, les conventions de dépôt de titres, la vente des joyaux de la couronne, les propositions d’approbation par une majorité qualifiée et les propositions aux actionnaires ou parties intéressées.

La politique fondamentale de 1832 qui consiste à exercer un droit de vote par procuration pour le compte d’un fonds de manière conforme à l’intérêt véritable du fonds et de ses porteurs de titres sert toujours de guide pour les décisions de vote par procuration. Dans le cas où, pour le compte d’un fonds, 1832 vote contrairement à la volonté de la direction d’un émetteur à l’égard d’une proposition particulière, qu’il s’agisse d’une affaire courante ou non, et que le fonds continue de détenir le titre de l’émetteur en question, les documents relatifs à ce vote ainsi qu’une explication détaillée doivent être conservés en dossier. Quand, pour des titres qu’il détient en portefeuille, un gestionnaire choisit de voter différemment d’un autre gestionnaire détenant les mêmes titres en portefeuille, la raison motivant ce vote doit être documentée et gardée en dossier. À l’occasion, un gestionnaire peut s’abstenir de voter à l’égard d’une proposition ou d’une question particulière lorsqu’il détermine que les coûts inhérents l’emportent sur les avantages éventuels. Une explication détaillée doit alors être fournie et gardée en dossier. Les documents pertinents sont envoyés à l’administrateur de portefeuille des votes par procuration de 1832 (l’« administrateur de portefeuille ») aux fins d’enregistrement dans les dossiers.

En outre, 1832 ne vote pas relativement à des procurations reçues d’émetteurs de titres qui ne sont plus détenus en portefeuille. Conformément aux exigences des lois sur les valeurs mobilières, 1832 ne vote pas pour le compte d’un fonds relativement à des titres détenus dans un fonds commun sous-jacent géré par 1832 ou par une société qui y est associée ou affiliée, selon la définition de ces termes dans la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario). Cependant, 1832 peut, à son entière discrétion, prendre des dispositions afin que les porteurs de titres d’un fonds exercent leur droit de vote afférent à la partie des titres du fonds commun sous-jacent qu’ils détiennent.

Sous la supervision continue de son directeur, l’administrateur de portefeuille veille à la réception de toutes les formules de procuration se rapportant aux titres à l’égard desquels 1832 a la responsabilité de voter pour le compte d’un fonds. Le directeur, Administration de portefeuille, dresse et met à jour la liste des questions considérées comme des affaires courantes par 1832, y compris les instructions sur la façon de voter pour le compte des fonds. Il incombe au directeur, Administration de portefeuille de s’assurer que l’administrateur de portefeuille exerce le droit de vote par procuration des fonds conformément aux instructions fournies par 1832.

En règle générale, tous les droits de vote par procuration sont exercés par l’administrateur de portefeuille pour le compte de 1832, ou par le conseiller ou sous-conseiller en placements, au moyen du logiciel ProxyEdge administré par ADP Investor Communication Services, Inc. (« ADP »). Le logiciel ProxyEdge enregistre tous les votes par procuration exécutés pour le compte d’un fonds, y compris les renseignements se rapportant à chaque émetteur. Sous réserve de l’approbation préalable de 1832, un conseiller ou sous-conseiller en placements peut choisir plutôt de soumettre la copie papier des documents relatifs au vote par procuration d’un fonds à 1832 afin que celle-ci les fournisse à ADP. Cette information compilée par ADP sera incluse dans le dossier annuel des votes par procuration (« dossier des votes par procuration ») de chaque fonds pour la période terminée le 30 juin.

Dès que les organismes canadiens de réglementation en valeurs mobilières ont donné leur approbation, certains fonds peuvent détenir des actions ordinaires de la Banque Scotia ou d’autres divisions apparentées. Par conséquent, l’exercice des droits de vote liés aux actions de la Banque Scotia ou d’autres divisions apparentées peut entraîner des conflits entre les intérêts de 1832 ou de ses employés et ceux des fonds. Il existe aussi une possibilité de conflit d’intérêts lors de l’exercice des droits de vote afférents aux actions d’un autre émetteur si les résultats du vote peuvent influer directement sur le cours des actions de la Banque Scotia ou d’autres divisions apparentées.

Lorsqu’un vote par procuration peut donner lieu à un conflit d’intérêts réel ou perçu, 1832 a instauré certaines procédures afin de promouvoir les intérêts des fonds tout en évitant les apparences de conflits d’intérêts. Cela permet d’assurer que les droits de vote par procuration des fonds sont exercés :

  • conformément à l’appréciation commerciale du gestionnaire de portefeuille, sans autre égard que l’intérêt fondamental du fonds;
  • sans aucune influence de la Banque Scotia ou d’une autre division apparentée et sans tenir compte des facteurs pertinents à la Banque Scotia ou aux sociétés qui y sont associées ou affiliées.

Les procédures relatives aux votes par procuration se rapportant aux titres d’émetteurs à l’égard desquels pourrait survenir un conflit d’intérêts prévoient la soumission de la question au Comité de révision indépendant, dont les membres sont indépendants de 1832. Le comité étudiera la situation et prodiguera des conseils. Cependant, il appartient à 1832 de décider de la façon d’exercer les droits de vote des fonds.

Un exemplaire des présentes lignes directrices concernant les votes par procuration ainsi que le plus récent dossier des votes par procuration pour chaque période terminée le 30 juin d’une année donnée seront affichées à www.dynamique.ca au plus tard le 31 août de l’année en question. Ces documents seront envoyés, sur demande, aux porteurs de titres des fonds en tout temps après le 31 août de l’année visée.

Si vous avez des questions, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec le Service juridique et de la conformité de 1832 à l’adresse suivante : Dynamic Funds Tower, 1, rue Adelaide Est, Toronto (Ontario)  M5C 2V9.

ACTUALITÉ