Print E-mail Bookmark and ShareShare

Do you need to invest with advice with a financial advisor? Ask yourself these questions:

  1. Do you have time to attend to your personal financial affairs?
  2. Are you confused about conflicting financial advice and about where to invest your money?
  3. Do you feel you are paying too much tax?
  4. Are you finding it difficult to save money?
  5. Has there been a recent change in your life that could affect your financial future – for example, job loss, retirement, inheritance, an addition to your family or loss of a spouse?

If you find yourself in any of these situations, the time may be right to find a financial advisor.

What type of financial advisor do you need?

You need to determine your needs before you decide what type of advisor you need.

There are thousands of financial advisors in Canada, each with their own unique process and way of operating. All financial advisors selling investment products must be registered with the provincial securities commissions. Most advisors are registered to sell either mutual funds only, or mutual funds and stocks and bonds. Many registered financial advisors will also provide comprehensive financial planning, sometimes for an extra fee. You need to determine your needs before you decide what type of advisor you need. For example, do you simply want someone to help you choose investments or do you want to work with someone who will develop a financial plan for you and then help you to execute that plan? Are you interested in protecting your family through insurance? Do you want help in planning for the day when you will pass on your wealth to your family? Are you interested in looking at ways to reduce your taxes? Many advisors can provide you with guidance on all these issues; while others have experts they rely on while quarterbacking your financial advice.

How do I choose?

As with most service-oriented businesses, the best way to find someone to help you through the financial maze is through word of mouth. Ask friends, family and colleagues about the person who gives them financial advice, if the advice has helped them meet their goals and if they recommend their advice.

What do I look for?

There are lots of questions you can ask a potential advisor to help you find the right one for your circumstances. First and foremost however is to look for someone who is committed to the profession. You will want to know about credentials and experience as well as their efforts to enhance their advice through continuing education.

Questions to ask:

Here is a list of questions to ask and what to look for in the answers you receive:

  • What is your background?

    Many advisors have gained valuable experience from another profession before becoming a financial advisor. An accountant or lawyer or successful businessman could bring a different perspective on certain financial issues. Someone who was in your business previously may bring valuable insight into your needs. On the other hand, if the advisor attended business school, he has received invaluable knowledge throughout his education.

  • What experience do you have?

    If you are looking for an investment advisor, you want to ensure that any advisor you choose is knowledgeable about both up and down markets. If you are looking for a financial planner, you will want to ensure the advisor is well versed at putting together effective financial plans for people like you.

  • What kinds of clients do you serve?

    You want your advisor to be experienced in helping people with similar needs to your own. Does the advisor concentrate on a certain type of client (profession, income level, age group)?

  • What products and services do you offer?

    You will want to know what types of products the advisor is licensed to sell and what additional services are offered. If you are looking for a financial plan, ask to see a sample so you will be aware of what you will get.

  • What designations do you have?

    If you are looking for financial planning assistance, ask if the advisor has their Certified Financial Planner designation. A CFP has met minimum standards in education, experience and ethics.

  • Can you provide references?

    If you haven’t been referred you will want to talk to clients who have similar needs to your own to ensure service has been satisfactory.

  • How often will I hear from you?

    You will want to know ahead of time how often your advisor will want to meet with you to review any changes to your circumstances or your investment objectives or strategy. Ask how the communication will take place. Do you receive regular emails, mailings or phone calls? How often will face to face meetings take place?

  • How do you select investments?

    Find out their investment process. Ask if they used managed solutions, mutual funds or individual securities likes stocks and bonds. How do they evaluate and choose a portfolio manager to manage their money?

  • How are you paid?

    There are different ways financial advisors are paid. Be sure you understand how this advisor is compensated for the advice he provides and the products he sells you.

  • Who else works with you?

    Many advisors work with a team and after the first meeting you may deal with an associate advisor most of the time. Ask about the advisor’s team and rolls of each person in the team. Your advisor may also have a great network of professionals that he can refer you to for other needs such as legal or accounting help.

  • What is the background of your company?

    Each advisor must work for or be sponsored by an investment dealer. Dealers are required to meet certain minimum standards including ensuring minimum capital reserves and compliance standards in order to maintain their registration. You should ask about the background and track record of the financial advisor’s dealer.

• Accueil
  • Accès investisseurs
  • English
  • Choix de pub
Imprimer Courriel Bookmark and SharePartager

Devriez-vous investir dans les bons conseils? Pour le savoir, posez-vous les questions suivantes :

  1. Disposez-vous du temps nécessaire pour gérer vos finances personnelles?
  2. Êtes-vous désorienté devant les nombreux choix de placement à votre disposition? Comment réagissez-vous aux suggestions contradictoires?
  3. Avez-vous l’impression de payer trop d’impôt?
  4. Avez-vous de la difficulté à épargner?
  5. Vos objectifs financiers ont-ils changé en raison d’un événement important survenu dans votre vie (p. ex. perte d’emploi, héritage, naissance d’un enfant, décès du conjoint, retraite, etc.)?

Vous verrez d’après vos réponses si le temps est venu de faire appel à un conseiller financier.

Quel genre de conseiller recherchez-vous?

On compte des milliers de conseillers financiers au Canada, chacun ayant sa propre façon de faire. Tous les conseillers doivent cependant être inscrits auprès de leur commission provinciale des valeurs mobilières, qu’ils vendent des fonds communs ou d’autres produits comme les actions et obligations. Nombre d’entre eux fournissent aussi des services complets de planification financière moyennant des honoraires, dans certains cas. Avant de déterminer le genre de conseiller qu’il vous faut, assurez-vous de bien définir vos besoins. Voulez-vous qu’on vous aide seulement à choisir vos placements ou plutôt à élaborer un plan financier et à y demeurer fidèle? Désirez-vous souscrire une assurance-vie pour protéger votre famille advenant votre décès ou prendre des dispositions pour faciliter la transmission de vos biens à vos héritiers? Êtes-vous à l’affût de solutions pour réduire vos impôts? Beaucoup de conseillers possèdent le savoir-faire requis pour vous guider dans ces domaines; d’autres jouent le rôle de chef d’équipe et s’entourent d’experts afin de vous offrir tous les outils possibles.

Comment recruter la bonne personne?

Le bouche à oreille reste le meilleur moyen de trouver la perle rare. Consultez vos amis et collègues ainsi que les membres de votre famille. S’ils font affaire avec un professionnel pour leurs finances et qu’ils sont satisfaits de ses services, ils n’hésiteront pas à vous le recommander.

Critères de sélection

Interroger les candidats potentiels afin de déterminer celui qui vous convient le mieux. D’abord et avant tout, privilégiez la compétence. Renseignez-vous sur les titres, formation et expérience du conseiller de même que sur les efforts qu’il déploie pour se perfectionner.

Questions pertinentes

Voici une liste de questions à poser et quelques points à considérer :

  • Quelle est votre feuille de route?

    Les conseillers ont souvent fait leurs premières armes dans un autre champ d’activité avant d’exercer leur profession actuelle. Un comptable, un avocat ou un homme d’affaires peut voir les choses d’un œil différent, tandis qu’une personne qui évoluait dans votre domaine auparavant risque de comprendre encore mieux vos besoins. Certains conseillers ont par ailleurs acquis de vastes connaissances dans le cadre de leurs études en finance ou en commerce.

  • Quelle est votre expérience dans le domaine des services financiers?

    Assurez-vous que le conseiller est aguerri ou qu’il connaît toutes les facettes de la planification financière.

  • Avec quels types de clients faites-vous affaire?

    Il est préférable que le conseiller ait l’habitude des gens qui vous ressemblent. Cherchez à savoir s’il vise une clientèle particulière (profession, revenu, groupe d’âge, etc.).

  • Quels produits et services êtes-vous autorisé à offrir?

    Si un plan financier vous intéresse, demandez au conseiller de vous montrer un exemplaire pour savoir à quoi vous en tenir.

  • Quels titres de compétence détenez-vous?

    La désignation de CFP ou de Pl. fin. est décernée aux conseillers qui répondent à certaines normes et exigences de qualification, de formation et de déontologie. Le conseiller ne peut pas utiliser ce titre ni fournir des services de planification financière s’il ne possède pas un diplôme reconnu.

  • Pouvez-vous me fournir des références?

    Si le conseiller ne vous a pas été recommandé, demandez à consulter quelques clients dont les besoins s’apparentent aux vôtres afin de vérifier leur degré de satisfaction à l’égard des services reçus.

  • À quelle fréquence communiquerez-vous avec moi?

    Sachez à quoi vous attendre en ce qui concerne les rencontres individuelles, les courriels, les envois et les appels téléphoniques. Votre conseiller doit revoir périodiquement votre portefeuille avec vous et se tenir au fait de votre situation personnelle afin d’apporter les modifications qui s’imposent en cours de route.

  • Comment sélectionnez-vous les placements?

    Informez-vous sur la méthode de placement du conseiller et sur la façon dont il procède pour recruter un gestionnaire de portefeuille. Demandez-lui s’il utilise des solutions gérées, des fonds communs ou des valeurs mobilières comme des actions ou des obligations.

  • Comment êtes-vous rémunéré?

    Il existe diverses formes de rémunération. Veillez à bien comprendre comment le conseiller est payé pour les conseils qu’il prodigue et les produits qu’il vend.

  • Avec qui travaillez-vous?

    Beaucoup de conseillers travaillent en équipe ou avec un adjoint. Renseignez-vous sur le rôle de chacun et sur la personne qui s’occupera de vous après la première rencontre. Certains conseillers ont développé leur propre réseau d’experts-conseils (avocats, fiscalistes et autres professionnels) qu’ils peuvent vous recommander au besoin.

  • Quel est le profil de votre entreprise?

    Chaque conseiller travaille pour le compte d’un cabinet ou courtier en valeurs. Afin de pouvoir exercer leurs activités, ces firmes doivent respecter certaines exigences, notamment en ce qui a trait aux réserves de capital et à la conformité. Prenez des renseignements sur les antécédents de la firme.